Weekend Review

So this is where the rubber meets the road.  Staying on track during the week is the easy part.  Think about it.  My schedule is the same Monday-Friday so I can implement a pretty regular eating schedule as well.  The weekends are a totally different story.  My schedule is all over the place.  I can see why this is a reason most people fail at this.  The weekends are tough.

Saturday wasn’t terrible.  I had my staple breakfast of Cheerios and OJ.  The afternoon grew more difficult as I had my son with me all day and his food needs always outweigh mine.  So anytime I thought I could get a way for a minute to grab a quick bite was thwarted by him in some way.  That’s when I realized that I needed to get to the supermarket and get some handy foods in the house that didn’t require a lot of prep.  Something I could grab and eat quickly.  Stuff to hold me over until I could actually eat a sit down meal.  So I picked up mixed nuts, raisins, & grapes.  These things are simple and a small handful will keep you going without sacrificing a lot of time. That got me through the day until I was able to enjoy my venison steak for dinner.  Man was that good!

Sunday yielded a different challenge……eating out!  Breakfast was the same as well as some snacks later on.  However, we went bowling in the afternoon so lunch was a challenge. I am stuck with bowling alley food.  I made the best choice I could and got a grilled chicken sandwich.  It was very small.  It was so small I could’ve considered it a snack.  That is exactly how I felt the remainder of the evening.  I was so hungry come night time.  Unfortunately, stopping to eat wasn’t an option.  I had to take care of the kids, get their stuff ready for school, run some laundry, etc…  I ended up eating four hot dogs around 10:30pm.  This wasn’t the best choice.  The hot dogs themselves are OK but put them in a bun and now I’ve got trouble.  Plus the timing wasn’t great.  I’m taking it as a lesson learned.  At some point during the night I have to stop to eat otherwise I will be eating right before bed and my body will not like that.

Overall it was a positive weekend.  I am really proud of the fact that I DID NOT cave into my crave for ice cream on both nights.  I also avoided soda at the bowling alley. Those are two biggies that usually do me in.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

